QBQ! Application – Personal Accountability

One of my favorites (actually, for now, the only one) podcasts related to project management is “People and Projects Podcasts” by Andy Kaufman. There are so many truths and principles laid out albeit the podcast is typically 20 to 25 minutes. One of the podcast I have listened to repeatedly is “QBQ,” or question before the question. John Miller is the author of “QBQ,” espousing personal responsibility.

Being in IT/IS/MIS industry, technology is constantly evolving and changing. To put the BQB hat, I should not be asking:

  • Why is my employer not providing training?
  • Why are my project staff not being provided the needed training?
  • Why are the help desk personnel not getting the required technology or application training?

My question or questions should be:

  • What additional training and or certification should I undertake to make me more valuable to the PMO, the team, client, or applicable project or program?
  • What can I do, given appropriate authority, to get my project team the adequate training relevant to the program or project?

BQB has other timeless truths but this aspect of human capital development stuck with me. This month, I will undergo an e-learning seminar on Agile–Agile Development and Project Management provided by International Institute for Learning, Inc. Personal accountability. It starts with me.

About bobbytaruc

PMP certified project manager, Project Executive in Information Systems. Subaru and everything Mac-lover. Doting husband to English-Swedish descent wife. Follower of Christ.

Leave a comment